Away Days- Northampton v Yeovil

Northampton away2

I’m not going to make a fuss about it, but the fixture list this year is ridiculous. As a northern Yeovil fan, (I say northern, it’s probably more midlands), I can only make it to 7 or 8 away games a season. This makes it ridiculous when 3 of them are in March. This was my first Yeovil match since mid-October, and I won’t see another until early January. Then the 3 games in March. Can’t we just have them spread out a bit more evenly? Anyway, I said I wasn’t going to make a fuss about it.

This was my first trip to Sixfields and I’d heard some pretty bad things about it. If you ignore the site of an abandoned building site on your right, it’s actually a pretty good ground. You get used to going to football grounds and getting treated like a piece of meat from all the stewards in the area. I’m not quite sure why it was different here. All the stewards and all the people working at the car parks were probably the nicest I’ve seen at a football match and were a credit to their club, especially given the fact they haven’t been paid for a month.

I’m normally not that keen on the food they serve at the ground as it’s often overpriced and pretty poor quality. In all fairness to Northampton, although on reflection the food was probably too expensive, you got a decent amount and it was actually quite nice. But to be honest warm saw dust would have tasted nice considering how cold it was.

Away fans are put in the South Stand where around 800 fans can apparently fit, we brought only 199. Having sat at the back to try and avoid the wind and rain, I can tell you it’s a good view up there, but I don’t think there’s anywhere in the ground where you get a ‘bad view’. Unfortunately £20 is now the average price for a League 2 ticket, but that’s a story for another day. Given that that is the average price, it was probably decent value.

The match itself was distinctly average. They were good, but from what I saw, you wouldn’t think that Northampton were 3rd in the league. What you would know however is that Yeovil are bottom. It was simply a catalogue of errors. They left out Ryan Bird and Shaun Jeffers, who have been two of their most dangerous players this season and simply set out for a draw. I feel total sympathy for the Glovers fans that showed their frustration towards both managers and players. In the case of Paul Sturrock, for an experienced manager, he looked like he didn’t have a clue. I don’t like to pick out individuals, but Nathan Smith has to be the worst footballer I have ever seen, he just looked completely lost, even at this low standard of football.

I have to mention the Northampton fans, who despite the financial troubles the club finds itself in, showed real passion for their club. To almost fill the part of the stadium that they can go in is a real sign of how much this club means to the community. It’s the same with the players who continue to do the business on the pitch, and Lawson D’Ath in particular showed excellent composure for the first goal. The second goal was inevitable, and despite what the BBC report says, it was an easy finish for the right foot of Marc Richards, not his head.

I’d be quite happy to go back to Sixfields again, presuming Yeovil stay up, Northampton stay in business and stay in League 2, and the new stand is finally finished. Actually based on that it looks quite unlikely that I will be going back soon, but if the chance came available, I’d probably take it.

Leave a Reply

